Some important questions and answers regarding the licensing of your dog
When do I purchase a dog license?
The regular dog licensing period is December 1, 2017 through January 31, 2018. Dogs should be licensed within 30 days of acquiring the dog, within 30 days of when the dog is 3 months old, or when purchased from outside the state.
How to Register your Dog
There are numerous ways to obtain a dog license for your dog. The Humane Society, along with our office, sells licenses all year long. We have additional pilot locations that sell dog licenses December 1st to January 31st. For a list of those locations, please Click Here. If you are unable to visit any of these locations, please feel free to purchase your license online through our website Click Here. You also have the ability to print a blank dog license application and mail it into our office, along with your check/money order (made payable to the Hancock County Treasurer) and self-addressed stamped envelope. Please find the blank application Here.
Types of Licenses
Puppy: $10.00 per tag for puppies aged 3 to 7 months. Dogs 8 months and older are considered adult dogs. Puppy tags are only available for purchase between July 1 and October 31. Puppy tags can only be purchased in Room 22 of the Auditor's Office at the Courthouse, at the Humane Society, or through the mail. Puppy tags cannot be purchased online! If you attempt to purchase a puppy tag online, the tag will generate at the full tag price plus any applicable fees. Refunds cannot be given for puppy tags that were purchased online.
Annual: $20.00 per tag. If you fail to renew by the January 31, 2018 deadline, you can still purchase a dog license but an additional penalty of $20 will be assessed. There are no provisions in the law to waive the fee. The laws governing dog licensing in the State of Ohio can be found in the Ohio Revised Code, sections 955.01 through 955.99.
3-Year Tag: $60.00 per tag. There is no discount or pro-ration for these tags and they can only be purchased in Room 22 of the Auditor’s Office.
Permanent: $200.00 per tag. There is no discount or pro-ration for these tags and they can only be purchase in Room 22 of the Auditor's office, These tags are based on a 10-year life span. No refunds will be issued should dog become deceased.
Assistance Dogs: The fee for these tags is waived but will only be issued to a guide dog, hearing dog, or a service dog. A guide dog has been trained, or is training to assist a blind/visually impaired individual. A hearing dog has been trained, or is in training to assist a deaf/hearing impaired individual. A service dog has been trained, or is in training to assist a mobility impaired person. These guidelines are based on Ohio Revised Code, Sections 955.011, 955.16, and 955.43. Once the animal is registered with the county, they are permanently licensed by receiving a special tag. This tag can only be purchased in Room 22 of the Auditor's office.
Kennel: $100.00 per Kennel. Kennel owners, according to the Ohio Revised Code, Section 955.02, ars a “person, partnership, firm, company, or corporation professionally engaged in the business of breeding dogs for hunting or for sale.” You must be actively breeding and selling in order to obtain this license. A person or business engaged in the activity described above should be registered as a kennel. A kennel license is available for purchase only in Room 22 of the Auditor’s office. The owner will receive 5 licenses plus a kennel license. At the time of purchase only, the owner will have the opportunity to purchase additional licenses for $1.00 each. Per Ohio Revised Code, each kennel owner is subject to review by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
If a tag is lost, a duplicate tag can be obtained at the
Auditor’s Office for a fee of $5.00
Dog License applications are mailed out for currently registered dogs, at the end of November and are mailed as a courtesy to Hancock County Residents. If, for any reason, you fail to receive your application via the United States Postal Service, it is still your responsibility to purchase a license in a timely manner.
Can I transfer the license if I sell or give my dog to a new owner?
Yes. Licenses are not transferrable between dogs within the same household or between a dog that is deceased and any new dog that is acquired. But if the ownership of a current dog is transferred to another owner, the license can be transferred for a $5.00 fee.
Why should I buy a license for my dog?
Dogs must be licensed by law, even if they never leave your property. A dog license tag attached to your pet’s collar is proof of ownership.
What should I do if I move?
If you move within Hancock County, report your new address to the Auditor’s Office at 419-424-7017 Option 1. If you move outside the county, call that county's auditor for license information.
Should your dog become lost, please make sure you contact the Animal Control officers at the Hancock County Humane Society to report your dog missing (419) 423-1664. If you happen to find a dog that is loose, and is properly tagged, please feel free to log onto our website and complete a “Lost Dog Search”. You can select the year/tag color the dog is wearing and the owner information will populate. If the owner information fails to populate or you are unable to get in touch with the owner, please contact the
Humane Society at (419) 423-1664.
Unlicensed dogs can be impounded by the dog warden.
Owners of unlicensed dogs can be cited to court and fined.