CATHY PROSSER WILCOX
HANCOCK COUNTY, OHIO
CLERK OF COURTS
AUTOMOBILE TITLE INFORMATION
WHEN YOU BUY A VEHICLE
Alterations should never be made on a Certificate of Title. If this is done, the title becomes null and void and a replacement title will need to be applied for. Do not fill in any part of the assignment or application (on the reverse side of the Certificate of Title) unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer oaths. All signatures must be notarized.
You must obtain your Certificate of Title within 30 days after the title was notarized or you will be subject to a late fee in the amount of $5.00 that must be paid at the time the title is issued.
You must bring an Ohio Driver’s License or another photo I.D. to the Title Department at the time of transfer.
Always inspect any vehicle that you purchase, checking the serial number to verify that it corresponds with the serial number on your Certificate of Title.
Ohio law requires the seller of a vehicle to complete an Odometer Statement.
WHEN YOU SELL A VEHICLE
Do not execute the assignment (on the reverse side of the Certificate of Title) until a sale has been made. Make sure that you know the proper name and address of the buyer before making the assignment. You as the seller are required to state the actual purchase price and the odometer reading of the vehicle. You must sign the title exactly as the title was issued to you and your signature must be notarized.
TRANSFERS TO AND FROM MINORS
Any person under the age of 18 is considered a minor in the State of Ohio. In order for a minor to sell or purchase a vehicle in Ohio, their parent or legal guardian must sign a “Minor Consent Form”.
You cannot transfer ownership of a vehicle with the Memorandum Certificate of Title (white copy). It is issued only for the purpose of obtaining license plates when a lien holder is holding the original title.
POWER OF ATTORNEY
No person can sign for you without a notarized Power of Attorney form. This form is then attached to our files and becomes a part of the title record.
Sales Tax is required to be paid when you purchase a vehicle. You must provide the purchase price either with an assigned title or a bill of sale. Please call the title office at 419-424-7040 for the current rate of tax.
A resident of Hancock County must pay tax when purchasing a motor vehicle outside of the State of Ohio. Sales tax for residents of other counties in Ohio can vary from this amount. Credit may be given for any tax paid in the other state and may be deducted from taxes due in Ohio. You will need to bring the Bill of Sale that would show proof of taxes paid.
CHANGE OF NAME
If your name changes due to marriage or court proceedings, the name on your Certificate of Title cannot be changed.
WHEN YOU HAVE A MORTGAGE ON YOUR VEHICLE
If you apply for a loan using your vehicle as collateral, always insist on getting a Memorandum Certificate of Title in order to obtain license plates.
Upon satisfaction of your mortgage you may receive the original certificate of title from the bank/finance company properly stamped paid, with the lien cancelled by the Clerk of Courts. If you financed your vehicle with a lender who is an electronic lienholder you will need to come into the office to apply for a replacement title once the lien has been satisfied.
If the original Certificate of Title is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a duplicate title. The owner(s) or lien holder of the vehicle can only apply for the duplicate title. If after the duplicate has been issued, and the original is found, the original must be returned to the Clerk of Court’s office for cancellation.
Commercial trailers weighing 4000 pounds or more are required to be titled. A Certificate of Title is not required on any commercial or utility trailer weighing less than 4000 pounds. The sale, purchase or mortgage of a trailer is the same as a motor vehicle except that an Odometer Statement is not required. To obtain license plates, contact any deputy registrar’s office.
In order to transfer title to a manufactured home, it is mandatory that the County Treasurer where the home was sited verify that all property taxes have been paid. If so, the Treasurer will stamp the title “House Trailer Transfer Approved”. There also has to be a stamp from the County Auditor certifying that conveyance fees have been paid.
To convert a salvage title to a regular title, an inspection must be made by the State Highway Patrol. The application for the inspection may be obtained at the State Highway Patrol Inspection Station or at the Title Department. The telephone number for the State Highway Patrol Inspection Station is: (419) 423-2957.
Self-assembled vehicles are vehicles assembled by a person, not at a manufacturing level. These vehicles do not have a title and they have been assembled using various parts or through fabrication. The State Highway Patrol must make an inspection. Receipts for all parts are required. The telephone number for the State Highway Patrol Inspection Station is: (419) 423-2957.
An authorized car dealer in Ohio or any deputy registrar must physically inspect any vehicle transferred from out-of-state to an Ohio title.
DEATH OF A VEHICLE OWNER
The surviving spouse can take title to one or two passenger vehicle(s) not disposed of the Will. This can be done a Surviving Spouse Affidavit, death certificate and the application portion of the reverse side of the title properly completed. Other transfers must be accompanied by a proper entry from Probate Court.
A vehicle can be titled to two owners as joint tenants with rights of survivorship (WROS). While both parties are living, both signatures are required. When one of the parties passes away, the survivor may bring the title and a copy of the death certificate to transfer the title to the survivor.