Marriage License Information
The Hancock County Probate Court issues marriage licenses to Hancock County, Ohio residents who wish to marry in the State of Ohio, and those out of state residents wishing to marry in Hancock County, Ohio. The Probate Court is the sole agency,
under the laws of the State of Ohio that is vested with the authority to issue marriage licenses.
- Residency requirement
- If the applicants reside in the State of Ohio, ONE of the applicants MUST be a resident of Hancock County. The license can be used anywhere in the State of Ohio, or
- If NEITHER applicant is a resident of the State of Ohio, then they MAY APPLY for a license in the Hancock County Probate Court, but the license MUST be used (marriage performed) in Hancock County.
- Proof of Residency and Identification– A current driver’s license or other valid state ID. If your present address is NOT the address on your driver’s license, please provide the Court with a piece of current mail showing your present
address (both applicants must show proof of their current address).
- Each applicant must be eighteen (18) years of age or older. If either applicant is under the age of eighteen (18) please contact the Court at (419) 424-7079 to obtain information on the additional requirements to obtain a Marriage License.
- Appearance requirement - Both applicants MUST COME TOGETHER to apply.
- Payment - The cost is Forty-Three ($43.00) dollars. Payment may be made only with cash, check or credit card.
- If either applicant has been previously married and the marriage ended by Divorce/Dissolution, a CERTIFIED copy of your most recent Divorce/Dissolution decree must be presented to the Court. The marriage license is valid when issued and there is no
required waiting period between its issuance and the marriage ceremony.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who may perform a marriage?
Any ordained or licensed minister of any religious society or congregation within this state licensed to perform marriages, a judge of a county court of his county, an authorized judge of a municipal court, the mayor of a municipal corporation in any county in which such municipal corporation wholly or partly lies, the superintendent of the state school for the deaf, or any religious society, in conformity with the rules and regulations of its church may perform a marriage within this state if, prior to the ceremony, that individual is also licensed by the State of Ohio to perform marriages. You can check who is licensed on the Ohio Secretary of State’s website at https://www.ohiosos.gov/records/minister-licenses/
How long is a marriage license valid?
A marriage license must be used within 60 days of issuance or it becomes void.
How do I get a certified copy of my marriage license?
A certified copy of your marriage license is not automatically sent. It must be requested. The copy can be obtained upon payment of $5.00 and only if requested. The request can be in person, by telephone, by email or by mail.
- No blood tests or witnesses are required in Ohio.
- Probate Court hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Please arrive no later than 4:00 p.m. to ensure adequate time to prepare your application and answer your questions. There are currently no evening or weekend hours.
- The Probate Court is located at 308 Dorney Plaza, Findlay, Ohio 45840.